Thank you to everyone!!

rainbow rosesI want to shout a massive THANK YOU to everyone who has sent me personal messages of support, their thoughts, even a CONGRATULATIONS!

It’s very easy in these cynical times to forget the power of basic human solidarity in times of trouble and change. I can feel a warm wave of that fundamentally instinctive feeling as I am  some beautifully moving connections with friends and family old and new.

Writing my Stubborn Dogs blog is proving to be enormously therapeutic as I wrestle with the reality of coming out of what has been a severe depression, albeit this time round being able to manage it in a different way than before. I am beginning to feel better in myself, now that I have made what is this life-changing decision to have surgery and hormone therapy, although its only been three weeks so far.  That I feel so much support and honesty out there is really important in my growing confidence. But I have to be careful not to try and run before I can walk.

It’s a big day tomorrow as I dip my toes back in at work to begin to reconnect there. My reality check with my therapist this morning has left me feeling that I really do need to take care as I climb out of it….and not try and rush to the summit carrying more baggage than I can realistically manage. My poor old brain cells are doing their best to get the synapses running smoothly and free from major technical faults. My medication’s stabilised. And I now have a future to be looking forward to, with a wonderful partner, family and friends to share with. I’m sure my work colleagues will be as supportive as they’ve been before when I go back although, as with everyone, it’s something you can only get your head around if you have an open heart to ‘difference’ and change and are prepared to re-evaluate sometimes deeply buried attitudes and prejudices that we all have in us.

Thanks to my friend Jo who sent me a lovely email along with this quote from Nelson Mandela’s inaugral speech in 1994.

“It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented and fabulous?  Actually, who are you not to be?”

Thank you for following my musings so far. There’ll be plenty more posts to come as this will sure be a long process so I hope you’ll continue to visit and chip in when you feel you want to say how something seems to you.

About Sam Feeney

I am a counsellor, trainer and LGBTQI community activist. I write about my journey through life as a someone who lives and breathes gender and sexual difference and who cares passionately about creating powerful and sustainable radical social and political change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank you to everyone!!

  1. Michael says:

    Go for it and be happy.

  2. Pingback: 2010 in review « Stubborn Dogs

Leave a Reply

