Just call me Sam … or Mr Feeney if you wanna be formal

Just call me Sam …

Well it had to happen someday! I’ve been wrestling with breaking my anonymity for a little while now. My coming out process as friends, family and regular readers know, has been a public one. I am transitioning from female to male while I am recovering from a serious depression, and I am doing it visibly, openly and, yes, bravely.

I am on the cusp of my testosterone therapy and I am already socially transitioning. i.e. in what is called my ‘Real Life Experience’, as far as I can prior to my body catching up up with my social gender and my brain.

I have just had to switch GPs as I was experiencing what I felt to be resistance to accepting my identity. My former GP continued to refer to me as she, and clearly had not made any pro-active attempts to find out what she could about transgender and transexual health care. This week I met my new GP and she was exactly what I was looking for – another professional with whom I could have an adult professional relationship with and who respected fundamentally my gender identity. I left with a prescription for my mad tablets (what I affectionately call my anti-depressants) in the new NHS name of Mr Sam Feeney. A big first and one that tells me even more so – why the hell can’t my fucking bank, Santander, take the ‘Ms’ off my debit card when I request it??? Because, dear reader, ‘the computer says no’…..

What a total load of pants!!! Of course my bank could take the ‘Ms’ off my bloody card. I can get it taken off the Electoral Register. I can get it changed at work, at my doctors, and will be requesting every damn thing get changed as far as I can without my Gender Recognition Certificate. That’ll take a couple of years I reckon, for passport, birth certificate, and getting married. I found out that if me and my fiancee get hitched before I get my GRC then I’d have to divorce her to get my GRC. Another reason why civil partnership should be legally identical to marriage!!

I have come out successfully to everyone at work, including a few young people to date. They have been amazing with some lovely words of respect and acceptance for me:

“You may have been born a girl Sam, but you’ve got massive bollocks”, 16 year old young man.

“It’s your body, you do what you want with it”, 15 year old young man.

I have heard stories of other transgender people they know, have felt the acceptance of difference that comes in positive healthy relationships, and I am immensely proud of the way in which people around me have opened their hearts and accepted me and my difference, with the utmost respect and genuine sensitivity.

I am a lucky man.

About Sam Feeney

I am a counsellor, trainer and LGBTQI community activist. I write about my journey through life as a someone who lives and breathes gender and sexual difference and who cares passionately about creating powerful and sustainable radical social and political change.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

